Gluten is found in grains such as wheat, barley and rye. Some people develop gluten intolerance or celiac disease or more mild gluten sensitivities and therefore need to avoid these foods. People who fall into these categories should focus on the foods they can consume like beans, nuts, seeds, eggs, meats, fish, poultry, fruits, vegetables, gluten free grains, and most dairy products.
Because there’s been a significant rise in celiac disease, there are also many common food products on the shelves made with ingredients other than gluten. It’s easy to find gluten free breads, cakes, cookies and more, for instance. That said, not all of these food products are healthy replacements. Many of them are significantly processed with a multitude of filler ingredients that aren’t healthy. Because of this, we encourage reading labels to choose the least processed options with the fewest ingredients and focusing primarily on whole foods for your meals.
Those who don’t have gluten sensitivities or intolerances need not follow a gluten-free diet but will similarly benefit from limiting processed foods and focusing on those that come directly from the earth.